Is The AI Flat Rate Ending? Musk On Grok’s Cost And OpenAI’s New Rules
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get everyday essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Elon Musk said on November 1 that serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures or details of any limit change. In the same week, OpenAI added rules for paid account sharing and said ChatGPT and Codex will share an allowance from December. The developments point to more metering of AI use, while flat monthly plans remain available.

Elon Musk said on November 1 that the cost of serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” as OpenAI introduced new restrictions on paid account sharing and announced that ChatGPT and Codex will use one shared allowance from December. The statements offer fresh evidence that AI subscriptions are being metered more closely, but Musk did not say whether xAI had changed Grok Bot’s limits or prices.

Musk replied to an X user who asked for a Grok Bot reset, saying that many users had run out of usage quickly that week. The exchange began at 20:11 UTC on November 1; Musk responded 23 minutes later. He gave no cost, revenue or margin figures, and did not specify what had changed. His statement concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s agent, rather than Grok chat as a whole.

According to xAI’s pricing page, Grok Bot is included with the Premium plan at $30 a month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, but not Free or Plus. Its usage draws from a shared weekly pool for the account, which also covers Grok chat and xAI models in the coding tool Cursor. xAI’s documentation says agent use is measured by steps and tokens, and that consumption depends on the task and the effort it requires.

OpenAI’s help center says paid accounts face limits on how many accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought using one card or device. The policy covers Go, Plus and three Pro plans, but OpenAI does not publish a numerical cap. The company also says Plus, Pro and Business users will draw on one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. Its documentation says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that allowance.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments announced October 29 to No…
The developmentMusk cited Grok Bot’s costs as OpenAI announced new account-sharing rules and a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex.
Is the AI Flat Rate Ending? Musk on Grok’s Cost and OpenAI’s New Rules

AI economics / subscription watch

Is the AI Flat Rate Ending?

Musk cited Grok Bot’s high serving costs as OpenAI tightened account sharing and combined ChatGPT and Codex usage into a shared allowance. The signals point to more metering, while monthly plans remain available.

Shared allowanceDec 2026ChatGPT and Codex for Plus, Pro and Business
Grok Bot plans$30–$200Monthly Premium, Super and Ultra tiers
OpenAI capUnpublishedNo numerical sharing limit provided
Musk’s figuresNone givenNo cost, revenue or margin data

What changed—and what remains unclear

Recent announcements touch separate parts of subscription use: agent consumption, account sharing and cross-product allowances.

01 / xAI · Grok Bot

Cost pressure cited

On November 1, Elon Musk said serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not say whether limits, pricing or access had changed.

02 / OpenAI · sharing

OpenAI says paid accounts face limits on accounts used per device and subscriptions bought per card or device. The numerical caps and start date were not published in the material cited.

03 / OpenAI · usage

One shared meter

From December 2026, Plus, Pro and Business users will draw from a shared token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. OpenAI says Instant chats remain unlimited.

Read the announcement precisely: Musk’s comment concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s agent—not Grok chat as a whole—and did not state that a new cap or price had been introduced.

How usage gets counted

A monthly subscription can cover work with very different computing demands. Agent tasks may draw more heavily on a shared pool than a short exchange.

01Plan access

Choose a tier

Grok Bot is listed with Premium, Super and Ultra, not Free or Plus.

02Task demand

Run a task

xAI says agent use is measured in steps and tokens; task effort affects consumption.

03Shared pool

Draw on allowance

Grok Bot shares a weekly account pool with Grok chat and xAI models in Cursor.

04Usage visibility

Track the meter

For ChatGPT and Codex, one shared allowance is planned for eligible plans in December.

A week of OpenAI plan changes

Several updates arrived close together, but they cover different plan terms and their published descriptions do not fully align.

“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”

Thibault Sottiaux · X · October 29, 2026

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

Elon Musk · X reply · November 1, 2026

“People use it much more than we expected.”

Sam Altman · X · January 2025, on Pro subscription losses

Documentation caveat: OpenAI’s release notes describe twice the Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500, plus cancellation of a planned Pro 200 cut. That is narrower than Sottiaux’s post; the cited material does not reconcile the difference.

What the public details do—and don’t—show

Use the published terms as a starting point; several practical limits and allocation details remain unspecified.

QuestionPublished detailStill unspecified
Grok Bot economics Musk said serving costs were high relative to revenue. No figures or margin data; no stated limit, reset or price change.
Grok Bot plans Premium $30, Super $100 and Ultra $200 per month, according to xAI’s pricing page. The cited material does not provide a new allocation amount.
OpenAI account sharing Rules cover Go, Plus and three Pro plans. Numerical per-device and per-payment limits; effective date.
ChatGPT + Codex Shared token allowance starts in December 2026; Instant chats remain unlimited. Exact plan amounts, allocation between products and additional-capacity options.

What customers can watch next

The value of a plan depends on how its allowance maps to real tasks and team workflows.

For individuals

Check what draws down

Compare chat and agent usage, check whether products share a pool, and review plan terms as the December allowance approaches.

For businesses

Estimate across tools

Track ChatGPT and Codex together, then compare the included allowance with actual work before forecasting monthly costs.

For xAI users

Look for allocation details

A useful follow-up from xAI would explain any Grok Bot pool or pricing change, including weekly limits and how shared usage works.

Key questions

What can be answered from the announcements described here?

Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No specific limit was announced. He described serving costs as unsustainably high relative to revenue, without naming a cap, reset or pricing change.

Is Grok Bot included in every X subscription?

No. According to xAI’s pricing page, it is included with Premium, Super and Ultra, but not Free or Plus.

When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?

OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business starts in December 2026. A precise date and plan amounts are not given here.

Are monthly AI plans ending?

The developments do not show that subscriptions are disappearing. They show providers defining more clearly how access and usage are allocated.

AI Plans Add Shared Usage Meters

These changes affect how customers judge the value of a monthly AI plan. A fixed subscription price does not mean that every task uses the same amount of computing or draws equally on a usage allowance. For users, a long-running agent task may consume more of a shared pool than a short chat, even when both are accessed through the same subscription.

For businesses, the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance could make it harder to treat coding and chat as separate, predictable expenses. Companies may need to track usage across both products and compare the included allowance with their actual work. Musk’s statement also puts the economics of agent services in view, though it provides no figures with which to assess Grok Bot’s costs or revenue.

The developments do not show that monthly subscriptions are disappearing. They show providers setting more explicit boundaries on who can share paid access and how usage is allocated. OpenAI’s changes also include higher allowances on some plans, so the direction is not simply a uniform reduction in access.

Products Worth Considering

Bose SoundLink Plus Portable Bluetooth Speaker, Wireless Outdoor Speaker, Up to 20 Hours Battery Life, Waterproof and Dustproof, Black
Bose SoundLink Flex Bluetooth Speaker (2nd Gen), Waterproof, Dustproof, USB‑C, Up to 12 hr Battery, Black
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W

Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Week of OpenAI Plan Changes

OpenAI introduced several changes between October 29 and November 1. On October 29, Thibault Sottiaux, who works on Codex and ChatGPT and posts as Tibo, wrote on X that usage limits were being doubled for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 tiers, as well as Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes describe a narrower change: twice the Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500, plus cancellation of a planned cut to Pro 200. The available source material does not reconcile the difference between the two descriptions.

OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024 with “unlimited access” to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users used the service more than expected. That remark is relevant to the current debate, but it does not establish the economics of today’s plans or explain Musk’s statement.

The account-sharing policy, new shared allowance and increased limits on some plans address separate parts of subscription use. The shared allowance takes effect in December; the source material gives no start date for the device and payment-card rules.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying on X on November 1, 2026

Limits and Costs Still Undisclosed

Musk did not say whether xAI reduced Grok Bot’s weekly pool, adjusted how usage is counted, changed pricing or plans to reset users’ access. His use of the past tense—“was unsustainably high”—does not by itself establish that a cost change already happened. No figures were provided to show how Grok Bot’s costs compare with its revenue.

Reports have described a post from Grok’s official account attributing usage changes to “adjusted allocations” and referring to a dashboard fault that temporarily overstated usage. The source material says the original post could not be located, so those details remain reported claims here. OpenAI has not published the number of paid accounts allowed per device or the number of subscriptions permitted per card or device in the material provided.

The exact shared token allowances by plan, how usage will be divided between ChatGPT and Codex, and whether users can buy additional capacity are also not specified here. OpenAI says Instant chats remain unlimited, but the scope of that exception should be checked against the applicable plan details.

December Brings OpenAI’s Shared Allowance

OpenAI says its shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance starts in December 2026. Users and businesses can check the plan’s usage page and current help-center terms as the change approaches. The published material does not give a precise December start date or full allowance amounts for each plan.

For xAI, the next useful detail would be a direct explanation of any Grok Bot allocation or pricing change, including the weekly limits and how the shared pool works. Musk’s post alone does not say whether users should expect a reset, a new cap or a price adjustment.

In the meantime, customers comparing subscriptions can check which tools draw from a shared allowance, whether agent tasks count differently from chats, and what limits apply to account sharing. Businesses evaluating plans can ask vendors for written usage and pricing terms before estimating monthly costs.

Key Questions

Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No specific new limit was announced in the post cited here. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” without describing a cap, reset or pricing change.

Is Grok Bot included in every X subscription?

According to xAI’s pricing page, Grok Bot is included with Premium, Super and Ultra, but not Free or Plus. The listed monthly prices are $30, $100 and $200, respectively.

When will ChatGPT and Codex share an allowance?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December 2026. The source material does not give a precise start date or the allowance for each plan.

Did OpenAI reduce all usage allowances?

No. OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice the Work and Codex allowance, and a planned Pro 200 cut was canceled. A separate shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex begins in December.

Does a flat monthly AI plan mean unlimited use?

Not necessarily. The plan details described here include shared pools and task-based usage measurement. OpenAI says Instant chats remain outside its upcoming shared allowance, while xAI says Grok Bot use depends on agent steps, tokens and task demands.

Source: Thorsten Meyer AI

You May Also Like

Secure Your Voice Rights With Our AI Licensing Platform

A new AI licensing platform enables voice actors to control and monetize their synthetic voice clones through structured licensing and approval workflows.

Lego Resale Tips: Using Technology To Assess Brick Value

A new app prototype uses photo analysis to estimate the value of loose Lego bricks, aiding collectors and resellers in pricing and sales decisions.

Capital: The Lever Beneath the Levers

Analysis of how private and public funding shapes AI infrastructure, with a focus on recent IPOs and circular capital flows in 2026.

AI Is the Alibi. The Reorg Is the Signal.

Coinbase cuts 700 jobs amid a major reorganization, claiming AI is the driver. Experts suggest the layoffs are driven by market forces, with AI serving as an alibi.